Image

Industry Issues


Mandatory beverage container redemption begins two weeks past date your county enters Phase 1 of reopening

As counties re-open, the OLCC will begin enforcing the requirement for retailers to accept empty beverage container returns and will link enforcement to the phase of a county. Specifically, two weeks after a coupty enters Phase 1 of the Governor’s plan to reopen Oregon, retailers in that county will be required to resume accepting empty beverage containers from customers. This includes accepting containers both through reverse vending machines and by hand count. The number of empty containers retailers are required to accept remains the same as prior to the non-enforcement, either 24, 50, or 144 containers per person per day.

While in Phase 1, stores may limit return hours from 8 AM to 6 PM except for 24-hour stores, which may limit their return hours from 7 AM to 11 PM. Two weeks after a county enters Phase 2, retailers in that county must extend their hours to accept returns from 8 AM to 8 PM except for 24-hour stores, which may continue to limit their return hours from 7 AM to 11 PM.

If a county moves back to the “baseline” phase, OLCC will again suspend enforcement until the county re-enters Phase 1.

Governor’s Plan for phased-in reopening: https://govstatus.egov.com/reopening-oregon

Flyers for Posting at Retail Locations

Information for retailers in Baseline Phase (Pre-Phase 1) Counties:

Information Flyer - For Stores in the Baseline Phase (Pre-Phase 1)

OLCC Aviso - Para Tiendas En La Fase De Base (Prefase 1)

Information for retailers in Phase 1 Counties:

Information Flyer - For Stores Located in Phase 1 Counties

OLCC Aviso - Para Tiendas Ubicadas En Los Condados De Fase 1

May 22 News Release on Phase 1 Reopening: Bottle Bill Redemption Requirements


Effective April 1, 2017, the Oregon Bottle Bill deposit and refund value will increase to 10¢ per container.

In preparation for this change, OLCC is making retailer signage available.The signs may be downloaded and printed to post in or near your beverage area to educate customers about the pending increase.

Follow this link (retailer signs) to the OLCC web page, where the retailer signs are available in several sizes.


Protect your OLCC Package Store License

Responsible Vendor Program* is FREE with ONSA annual dues of $100 per store. Comes complete with all forms, documentation, store signage and procedures to qualify for the OLCC Responsible Vendor Program (the program ONSA helped establish during the 1999 Oregon Legislature).

  • Simple step-by-step instructions
  • Complete set of RVP rules
  • Signs for your store
  • Training guidelines for your employees

*If you are in compliance with the RVP program and take the appropriate steps to stay in compliance, your Package Store License cannot be revoked based on “sting” failures from minor decoy operations.

Request your Responsible Vendor Program today. Call 503-316-9638 or email contact@onsa.net.